Hall of Fame selection review: How Kevin Mawae and the rest of the class got in

ATLANTA -- All 18 finalists came here and were told what time to be in their hotel rooms to await a phone call to learn they missed out or a knock on the door from Dave Baker to learn face-to-face from the guy who runs the Pro Football Hall of Fame that they were a new member.

Former Tennessee Titans center Kevin Mawae got the knock, no small accomplishment considering predictions of three first-ballot selections came to fruition with Tony Gonzalez, Ed Reed and Champ Bailey earning their gold jackets and bronze busts. Ty Law fills out an impressive class modern-era class.

Contributors Gil Brandt and Pat Bowlen and veteran committee selection Johnny Robinson are also in.


The first five of the 15 finalists who were eliminated were: Isaac Bruce, Don Coryell, Tom Flores, John Lynch and Richard Seymour.

The five who advanced to the final 10 but then missed out were Steve Atwater, Tony Boselli, Alan Faneca, Steve Hutchinson and Edgerrin James.

Some thoughts on what unfolded inside the off-the-record meeting, where I was one of the 48 selectors for the sixth time.

Login to Read the Full Story

Not Already a Member?

Membership includes access to everything on the site – articles, videos and potentially podcasts. You’ll be welcome to private Periscope sessions where only members can ask questions, have a spot on a private Facebook page where we can discuss everything and get priority placement in mailbag posts. PaulKuharsky.com will provide analysis and insight on the Titans and the league that simply can’t be found elsewhere, plus occasional rants from me on non-football stuff I come across.

You are not authorised to post comments.

Comments powered by CComment

Cron Job Starts