Titans' Eddie George Fails To Advance To Final 15 For Pro Football Hall of Fame

NASHVILLE, Tenn. -- For the second time in three years, Eddie George missed the cut from the list of 25 semifinalists for the Pro Football Hall of Fame to 15 finalists.

Three other running backs were in the final 25 with George, the Titans/Oilers' all-time leading rusher: Tiki Barber, Fred Taylor and Ricky Watters.

Eddie George celebrates his fourth quarter touchdown in Super Bowl XXXIV. Behind is quarterback Steve McNair/- - photo by Eric Parsons Eddie George
Eddie George after a TD in Super Bowl XXXIV/ © Eric Parsons, Copyright 2000 The Tennessean

Of the four, only Taylor advanced to the final 15. 

The Hall's 50-member selection committee (or which I am a part) will meet in January to reduce the list in votes narrowing the 15 to 10 and the 10 to five. If the final five each then get 80 percent of the vote, they are enshrined.

Also eliminated with George, Barber and Watters were Anquan Boldin, James Harrison, Robert Mathis, Steve Smith, Hines Ward and Vince Wilfork.

George has six years of eligibility remaining as a modern-era candidate. It was encouraging that he broke through as a semifinalist for a second time.

His strong endorsements included this from Ray Lewis.

Ray Lewis on Eddie George

One prominent voter liked George's chances to make it as a finalist.

George's 3.6 yards per carry is the No. 1 thing that holds him back.

Taylor averaged 4.6 yards per carry in a career that was 12 games longer, outgaining George by 1,246 yards. George scored two more rushing TDs, 68 to 66.

The Hall finalists are:

•    Eric Allen, Cornerback – 1988-1994 Philadelphia Eagles, 1995-97 New Orleans Saints, 1998-2001 Oakland Raiders
•    Jared Allen, Defensive End – 2004-07 Kansas City Chiefs, 2008-2013 Minnesota Vikings, 2014-15 Chicago Bears, 2015 Carolina Panthers
•    Willie Anderson, Offensive Tackle – 1996-2007 Cincinnati Bengals, 2008 Baltimore Ravens
•    Jahri Evans, Guard – 2006-2016 New Orleans Saints, 2017 Green Bay Packers
•    Dwight Freeney, Defensive End/Outside Linebacker – 2002-2012 Indianapolis Colts, 2013-14 San Diego Chargers, 2015 Arizona Cardinals, 2016 Atlanta Falcons, 2017 Seattle Seahawks, 2017 Detroit Lions
•    Antonio Gates, Tight End – 2003-2018 San Diego/Los Angeles Chargers
•    Rodney Harrison, Safety – 1994-2002 San Diego Chargers, 2003-08 New England Patriots
•    Devin Hester, Punt Returner/Kick Returner/Wide Receiver – 2006-2013 Chicago Bears, 2014-15 Atlanta Falcons, 2016 Baltimore Ravens
•    Torry Holt, Wide Receiver – 1999-2008 St. Louis Rams, 2009 Jacksonville Jaguars
•    Andre Johnson, Wide Receiver – 2003-2014 Houston Texans, 2015 Indianapolis Colts, 2016 Tennessee Titans
•    Julius Peppers, Defensive End – 2002-09, 2017-18 Carolina Panthers, 2010-13 Chicago Bears, 2014-16 Green Bay Packers
•    Fred Taylor, Running back – 1998-2008 Jacksonville Jaguars, 2009-2010 New England Patriots
•    Reggie Wayne, Wide Receiver – 2001-2014 Indianapolis Colts
•    Patrick Willis, Linebacker – 2007-2014 San Francisco 49ers
•    Darren Woodson, Safety – 1992-2003 Dallas Cowboys

You are not authorised to post comments.

Comments powered by CComment